Why I Have “Hot Dates” at Wal-Mart

I hate shopping.  It doesn’t matter the type of shopping. Grocery, household goods, clothing, you name it, I hate shopping.  I am a typical guy in that regard.

I love my wife.  I love holding her hand and taking walks on the beach or the boardwalk.  I love sitting in silence, just staring at her. I love riding in the car with her. I love being with her ANYWHERE at ANY TIME.

Thus was born our “hot dates.” I want Peggy to know that I love being with her even if where we are is not a place that would make my top ten list. Wal-Mart is in that category…the not “top ten” list, that is.  No, I am not anti Wal-Mart. I just hate shopping. But, in our busy lifestyle, Peggy and I decided some time ago to call our shopping trips to Wal-Mart, “hot dates.” I created a photo album on my Facebook page to chronicle those dates.

The message I want to proclaim to the world is simply this: wherever I am with Peggy, that is a “hot date.” She is my smokin’ hot Bride, and if I am in her presence, nothing else matters to me.  I pray that we can model what a healthy marriage relationship looks like, not just for our kids, but for our friends as well.  Our relationship isn’t perfect. It couldn’t be if I am part of the equation. But Peggy is patient and tolerant of me, even to the point of allowing me to post goofy pictures of us at various locations in Wal-Mart. To my surprise and pleasure, the idea has caught on with several other folks, who are also involved in “hot dates” to their “favorite” shopping places.

Proverbs 18:22 says, The man who finds a wife finds a treasure, and he receives favor from the Lord. I have received a great favor from the Lord in the person of Peggy.

Proverbs 31:10-11 remind me: 10 Who can find a virtuous and capable wife?
    She is more precious than rubies.
11 Her husband can trust her,
    and she will greatly enrich his life.

My life has been enriched beyond words because God placed Peggy in it.  To the best of my ability, I will honor God in all I do. I will also do my best to honor Peggy in all that I do.  Even to the point of going shopping with her.  I do so, not grudgingly or with a bad attitude (most of the time), but with an eager anticipation of having a “hot date” with my Bride. Our most recent “hot date” include a stop in the section where fans of various types were doing their thing on some shelves.  It was a particularly warm June evening here in Vero, so this happened:

FansDate

“A date so hot, we had to cool off in front of the box fans.”

And that, my friends is why I have “hot dates” at Wal-Mart.

Be God’s,

Scott

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on June 23, 2015, in Honor My Wife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

