Two Questions With Which to Wrestle

So I recently listened to Andy Stanley’s talk from this year’s Orange Conference. I see that he gave a similar talk at Catalyst 2014. No matter. He ask two big questions in this talk (Scripture work from the book of…wait for it…Nehemiah!)
Who are you?
What breaks your heart?

While I wrestled with these questions during the Orange Conference, I am ashamed to admit that I also allowed them to get drowned out by all the other information I was taking in. So, when I listened to the audio of that talk again recently, the juices began to flow.

Who are you, Scott?

I am a slave of Christ Jesus, my Lord and Savior. I surrender my life to Him daily. I am Peggy’s husband, and every day of my life I will choose to love her as Christ loves the church. I am Elliott’s (Abi’s), Ian’s (McKayla’s), and Emily’s (Bryant’s) dad. I will do my best to model godly love for all my kids! I am Micah’s, Eden’s, and Landon’s Pop Pop. I will leave them a legacy of Christlike living that will impact them for all of eternity. And finally, I am a minister of the Gospel of Christ.

What breaks you heart?

Those who are outside of Christ AND those who claim to be Christians but live like the world thereby chasing away the lost so that they may never come to a saving relationship with Jesus. I want to be a discipler of disciplers. If we in the church are not helping others become completely committed followers of Christ, then we are wasting our lives and the eternal lives of those we are supposed to impact.  THAT thought breaks my heart.

We have been rescued to be rescuers.

Why are we spinning our wheels on the stuff that doesn’t matter, when all around us there are people who are lost and dying and going to hell? Jud Whilhite says we have been rescued to be rescuers.  He rightly points out that many of the conversation we are having in the church DO NOT MATTER to those who are not in Christ.  I don’t even want to waste my time listing those non-essential topics.

Shouldn’t we be about the business of doing WHATEVER IT TAKES to help the people you know come to that saving relationship with Christ?

I simply want to say this: If the ONLY thing that will matter 100 years from now is your relationship with Christ, and if the ONLY thing that will matter 100 years from now is the relationship with Christ that the people you know will have, then shouldn’t we be about the business of doing WHATEVER IT TAKES to help the people you know come to that saving relationship with Christ?  Because whatever it takes is worth it!

Andy Stanley tells the story of the first time he was in Rome. He went to the Coliseum and at the Emperor’s entrance he saw this:

The Emperor's Entrance to the Roman Coliseum.

The Emperor’s Entrance to the Roman Coliseum.

Yes, a cross hangs in the Emperor’s entrance to a place where for many years, Christians were put to death for sport.  Almighty Rome fell, but the cause of Christ remains.  Today, in cultures all over the world, we name our children, Peter, James, John after the Apostles of Jesus Christ. We name our dogs Caesar and Nero after the “great emperors” of Rome. Christ will be glorified, and the “powers of this world” will be put in their proper place.

Satan loves to distract, disarm, dissuade, and destroy.

Meanwhile, satan loves to distract, disarm, dissuade, and destroy.  His strategy against Christ followers begins with distraction.  I pray that the LORD will keep me focused on that which breaks my heart (and His) so that I can be the most effective discipler of disciplers I can possibly be!

That is what I desire to do, because that is who I am.

In my next post, I will discuss a strategy I am developing to achieve this goal of being a discipler of disciplers.  Meanwhile, let me ask you:
Who are you? What breaks your heart?

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on July 7, 2015, in Christian Living, Discipleship and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is very good, Scott. Thanks for the insights and keep up the good work!

    Martin Drummond

    Like

Leave a Reply

