Life Map – Personal Mission Statement

Several years ago, I had he privilege of sitting at the feet of Gary Johnson. Gary is the led servant at The Creek Christian Church in Indianapolis, IN. He strongly encouraged us to create, develop, and live by a Life Map.  I recently looked over my now expired version (supposed to be a three year plan, with one year goals as well). While there is still much work to do, having a Life Map gives me clear goals for which to strive as I desire to live a 1 Corinthians 11:1 life. If my life verse is “Follow me as I follow Christ,” then I need to be held accountable. I need to do more than “dust off” my map every now and then. Following Christ in a manner that allows me to encourage others to follow me is a 24/7 lifestyle.

It was great to pray about, over, and through my personal mission statement.

PersonalMissionStatement

 Now, to examine my life in light this mission statement:

  • Reaching people for Christ is obviously evangelism.

  • Refreshing them in worship goes much deeper than singing songs with other people on Sunday. Worship is the natural action/reaction to all that God does for us. Worship is to give God glory, honor, and praise. Helping others live this kind of lifestyle is my duty and my privilege.

  • Refining through the study of God’s Word: one-on-one discipleship time of which I previously wrote in this post. I must study God’s Word daily on my own, but I also need the accountability of a study with someone else.

  • Readying them to serve others is simply part of the discipleship process as well. Teaching others to serve is a vital part of discipleship. Head knowledge can puff you up, but heart knowledge leads you to put on the towel of servanthood.

  • Rallying them to do the same. A disciple is called to disciple others. Yeah, I wrote about that process in this post.

Do you have a personal mission statement? I would love to hear from you about that.

PERSONAL MISSION STATEMENT

I exist to glorify God by…reaching people for Christ; refreshing them in worship; refining them through the study of God’s Word; readying them to serve others; and rallying them to do the same.

What are your written goals for this year? If you haven’t written any down, try doing so today. I know the year is half-over, so what? Today is the day to start the process.

More on goals, Life Map, etc. in my next post.

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on July 24, 2015, in Life Map, Personal Mission Statement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

