Bonds in Christ

image

Sitting in the electricity-less stillness of Peggy’s parents’ house this morning. A planned electric outage as the power Company moves a main trunk line. I have been looking o we some pictures taken on our trip to KY, read my One Year Bible and journaled, and posted a picture on Instagram that is serving as a specific prayer mechanism this morning.  Anyone who “likes” that photo gets specific prayer time from me this morning! I have already prayed for folks in Florida and Ohio with whom I share the common Bond of Christ. That got me thinking about this Bond, and so I will share a few thoughts about the Bonds in Christ we share with one another.

  • The Bonds transcend time and space. I have brothers and sisters in Christwho live thousands of miles from me, and whom I rarely see in person, yet we are closer now than ever. Technology allows us to stay in touch through cell phones,the Internet, etc. while I love the use of technology this way, the Bonds of Christ are what holds us together.  Knowing that Iam being lifted up in prayer by people around the globe (literally) is more comforting than I can adequately express in mere words.
  • The Bonds sharpen my ability to love others. Jesus loves people, and if I am going to follow Jesus, then I will love people. It really is that simple despite the fact that we often try to make it more complicated. I can truly say that I would lay down my life for those with whom I share the Bonds of Christ. Without hesitation. No brigado here, just the simple fact. I love Jesus, and I love people, and I know that this life is not the be-all, end-all, so if the occasion called for it, yeah, I would lay my life down for my brother or sister in Christ.
  • The Bonds expand my family. I literally see my fellow Christ followers as brothers and sisters. That is not just “church talk” coming from me.  You’ve heard the old saying that “blood is thicker than water.” Well, the blood of Christ is the thickest kind of blood and that’s the glue in the Bonds in Christ.

You’ve heard the old saying that “blood is thicker than water.” Well, the blood of Christ is the thickest kind of blood and that’s the glue in the Bonds in Christ.

  • The Bonds give me a global perspective. I am growing more and more to understand that my own little “neck of the woods” is not the center of the universe. I pray more and more for issues facing my brothers and sisters around the globe. It is all about the Kingdomof Christ, not the narrow slice of that Kingdom where I happen to be at this point in time.

So, since my devotional reading reminded me that the time is short, and my obligation to Christ is to love, may the Bonds of Christ be strengthened in my life today as I live out that love!

 

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on July 30, 2015, in Christian Living and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

