God Enough

GodEnough2.001

In my daily devotion time, my prayer time, and in my personal reading time lately, my thoughts have been drawn to what has turned out to be this blog post.  How would you punctuate this two-word phrase: “God Enough”?  I want to consider this as two one-word sentences for purposes of this excercise.

How you would punctuate it says much about where you are in your faith journey. Let me explain with a few examples.

God? Enough!

In this punctuation scheme, we seem to be asking if God exists, while proclaiming that whatever is going on in our lives now needs to change.  “If You are real God, then change my life circumstances.”

God? Enough. 

This one is slightly different. While you don’t doubt God’s existence, you are telling Him that it is time for Him to change whatever you don’t like in your life.

God. Enough?

Yeah, you believe in God, but is He really enough? Is He really all you need to get through this life? You want to believe that, but right now you are just not sure.

God! Enough!

If English had the imperative tense that Greek has, this punctuation would clearly state that you are commanding God to stop whatever is happening. You’ve had enough of it, and you command God to stop it right now.

God. Enough.

 
A picture of true contentment. A simple statement that God is all you need. Period.
 

God. Enough!

 
God is enough and I will shout it from the rooftops. God is all I need and I will rely on Him and Him alone.

So, how about you? How would you punctuate this into One word sentences?  Do any of these categories above describe where you are right now? I believe that we move in and out of these different categories in our daily journey with Christ. My desire is to get to that point of contentment that Paul writes about in Philippians 4:10-12

10 How I praise the Lord that you are concerned about me again. I know you have always been concerned for me, but you didn’t have the chance to help me. 11 Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. 12 I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little.

I pray that all who read this note will learn to have that kind of contentment as they walk with Christ.

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on October 4, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

