Devastated

Seriously, I did this several times in the past week!

Seriously, I did this several times in the past week!

In June, I began a new, healthy lifestyle including the Weight Watchers plan and regular exercise. I am a type 2 diabetic and weighed more than I ever had in my life. I new that my lifestyle had to change. Over the past several months, I have lost 25 pounds, and seen my fasting blood sugars drop from the 140’s to the 90’s-100’s. My A1c went from 7.2 to 6.0. I recognize that my journey is a marathon, and I know that Scripture teaches to care for the physical body since it is the temple of the Holy Spirit.

I post a weekly accountability note on my Facebook page, and have several people who are praying for and holding me accountable in this new lifestyle.  Today, I am devastated as I have to issue this report:

This past week, I hit the gym again on a regular basis. Okay, four days out of the past seven, and that is pretty regular for me. I did three 40-minute workouts on the Ark burning over 700 calories each time. I did one 30-minute workout, burning over 500 calories.

I tracked my food each day, like I am supposed to, staying within my daily allowance, and using very few flex points over the course of the week. So, it was with a great amount of anticipation that I stepped on the scales this morning. I quickly stepped off rubbed my eyes and tried it again. The scales must be “broken.” Peggy got on and confirmed that the scales were indeed working properly. I stepped back on and to my sheer horror, they say I have gained EIGHT pounds in the past week.

To say that I am devastated today is an understatement. I feel numb. Since I have pledged to post an accountability posting each week, here it is. I don’t want to post this. I just want to crawl in a hole and cry today.

I’ll get over it. Heartbreak Hill is part of the marathon course, and today my heart is broken. I thank you in advance for your prayers and words of encouragement, but seriously, today, I just want to be left alone. I’ll will bounce back, but today is not that day. Thanks for understanding.

I don’t want to be guilty of being one of those guys who only posts “happy, happy, happy” on social media. The struggle is real. Christ is enough, and this too shall pass. But today, I simply ask that you pray for this broken hearted guy, who has got to pick himself back up tomorrow (not today! Today, I mourn.).

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on October 27, 2015, in Accounhtability, Healthy Lifestyle, Mourning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

