A New Day

2 Corinthians 4:16 says, “That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day.”

Yesterday was a day of mourning and self reflection for me. I spent the day away from social media, choosing instead to connect on a deeper level with my Lord.  I spent extra time reading from God’s Word, praying, crying out to God in anguish, asking for His comfort. I then turned my focus away from me. I spent time praying for dear brothers and sisters in Christ whom I know are facing far more difficult times than I could even imagine.

I also finished reading Kyle Idleman’s latest book, “The End of Me.” I highly recommend this book.  The timing on finishing it up could not have been better for me.

I did not track food points yesterday, but I did not go overboard on eating either.  I may not have eaten enough points. Oh well.  I did not  go to the gym yesterday, but I was there this morning. See?

 image  image

Am I still disappointed by the news yesterday’s weigh-in brought? Yes. Am I still devastated? No.  Thanks to all who continue to lift me in prayer, and who understand that yesterday, I just needed some time alone with the Lord.  No, I wasn’t hiding. I didn’t have a pity party. I honestly sought out my Lord Jesus, asking for His guidance. I earnestly sought to take my focus off of me, trying to put an end to such selfish thinking, coming to the end of me so that I could experience life more abundantly in Christ.

Today is a new day. Christ is still on the throne.  I have spent time listening to a sermon podcast while working out at the gym. Back on track and so grateful to Jesus for His love and patience with me.

When life’s curve balls come your way, it is tempting to curl up in a little ball, have a pity party and shut everyone else out.  I pray that you will not do that.  If you shut out everyone else, just open up that much more to Jesus and let Him walk you through it.

How do you cope with devastating news? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comment section below.

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on October 28, 2015, in Accounhtability, Christian Living, Devastated, Healthy Lifestyle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

