Reset 2016

Reset2016

On Sunday, I will preach a message titled “Reset” as we kick off a new year.  However, for purposes here, I will not preview the message, but discuss some practical application.

To say that 2015 was personally challenging would be an understatement. While I am not one to air family “dirty laundry” on the World Wide Web, let me just say I spent a LOT of time on my knees interceding for my family. My heart was torn into pieces more than once this past year.  Some of the lowest lows came our way as a family.  As a follower of Christ, I leaned on my Lord more than I have in many years. I spent much of the year not knowing if my family would survive this in tact.  In fact, I was fairly certain that it would not. But, I continued praying, begging God to soften hearts and minds, especially mine.

God is faithful.  I am deliriously happy to report that God answered those prayers with a resounding “YES!” As I chronicled in a previous post, I got to celebrate the Lord’s Day on December 27th with all of our kids and grandkids at church together for the first time since they all got married and starting having our grand babies.

image

Bridges that appeared to have been burned were rebuilt. Oh, some of those bridges may still be wobbly, but they are getting stronger every day. My prayers in this regard continue and will be a part of my daily quiet time with God.

Getting to ring in the New Year with this crew is one of the highlights of my year:

NewYearCrew

We don’t know when we will get to see our Arkansas Blount crew again next, but having them here for the past week is truly an answer to prayer!

Reset Practical Tip #1: Spend time in God’s Word and in prayer every day. Reading Scripture allows God to speak to you. Praying is a time for you to speak with God (and frankly, it is a time to listen as well). Make this time a priority.

Reset Practical Tip #2: Soften your heart. Ask for a forgiving spirit and put it into practice. You can’t change anyone else, but you can change you! I am a vastly changed man from where I was this time last year.  Frankly, those changes are for the good, and for my good.

Reset Practical Tip #3: While interceding in prayer for those you love, do not be afraid to GENTLY intercede physically as well. A gentle word of encouragement can go a long way to help resolve issues.

Reset Practical Tip #4: Let go. God’s got this.  Far from a cliché, this is jut TRUTH. As a Type A personality dude, control is an issue about which I must constantly pray, and constantly battle.

This past year, after one of our adult children announced a decision, they were amazed that I didn’t try to “fight” them over that decision.  I simply answered that I had turned the situation in question over to God long ago, so why would I fight the answer God provided? Yeah, not something I would have done this time last year.

StarWars2016

So, as we begin the New Year of 2016, may we reset our attitudes and live so that God is glorified in all areas of our lives.  I’d love to continue the conversation with you. What are some New Year’s Resets you have put or will put into place? Comment below and share your wisdom.

Be God’s.

 

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on December 31, 2015, in Christian Parenting, Family, Healing, Mind set and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Let go….that is where I struggle. Even now, as I type this, turmoil is happening in my house. And I know it will end in the physical form in 24 hours or so, when a change is finally made. But it is the emotional part I have difficulty with. I can only pray and ask God for guidance for the young man who I was unable to “save” and as you said above, turn it over to God. For He reigns supreme and I cannot continue to be in control of someone who wants to march to their own beat. My prayers are not only for him as he learns how to live on his own, but also for me, as I learn how to not beat myself up for the mistakes he may make without my constant supervision.

    Like

    • Yes, Heather, letting go is difficult! It is not our job that save others. That is God’s job. All we can do is point people to Christ, live the best thing sample we can, pray, and prod. That would s our part. God’s part is doing the saving. The other person must then do their part and accept Gid’s gift. I pray for you no the young man in question daily. Don’t give up! Continue doing your part and trust God to do His part.

      Like

Leave a Reply

