Outrageously Generous

OutrageouslyGenerous

What an outrageously generous God we serve!

This past weekend, I had the privilege of attending the Next Level Leadership Summit co-sponsored by Sebastian Christian, Cornerstone Christian, and Vero Christian Churches.  Dr. Gary Johnson (whom I have written about before here) was the presenter.  While there was much to digest from the weekend, this statement stands out and is slapping me in the face right now: We belong to an outrageously generous God!

We belong to an outrageously generous God!

Dr. Johnson then referenced numerous Scripture verses to back up this assertion: Genesis 1:29, Deuteronomy 8:10, Jeremiah 24:7, Ezekiel 11:19, Luke 11:13, and of course, John 3:16. Look them up, they are worth the read.

So, the wrestling match has been on in full swing this weekend. If I belong to a God Who is outrageously generous, and I am created in the image of God, then shouldn’t I be outrageously generous as well?  Duh.  but, am I? Therein lies the rub.

God is outrageously generous not just to those who love Him, but to everyone!  Even those who despise His very name. God pours out His blessings like the rain…on the just and the unjust.

I, on the other hand, am pretty generous with people I know and love. I give my first fruits to the church, I give to other mission work above and beyond that, I give to family members as they need, and sometimes even if they don’t need.I do the same for my church family. So? Is that outrageous generosity? I don’t think so.

I am praying about this matter.  I need God’s guidance. I need the “hands and feet of God” to chime in here as well. What are you doing to be outrageously generous?  What steps would you recommend?

As I pray more about this, I will follow up with some thoughts of my own, but I seriously would LOVE to hear from you in regards to being outrageous generous.  Ready? Set. Go!

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on February 1, 2016, in Christian Living, Outrageous Generosity, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

