Valentine thoughts on Love

This weekend, I celebrate my 38th Valentine’s Day as either Peggy’s boyfriend or husband (I never stopped being her boyfriend after we got married). It is in that context, that I make the following Valentine’s observations:
Love is a verb. It is a continuous action. I can honestly say that as much as I thought I loved Peggy 38 years ago, my love for her is so much stronger now. This love grows daily. She absolutely still makes my heart beat. When she walks into the room, I couldn’t care less about anything else that may be going on. She commands my undivided attention.

Love is a choice. I choose to love Peggy. I make that choice every day.  Now, in the interest of transparency, there are times when I may not like her very much. Those times are usually when my selfishness sinful nature has taken root, and I must choose to repent. I have no doubt but what there are times when Peggy doesn’t like me very much. I can be a total jerk. I can take her for granted. Again, my selfish sinful nature rears its ugly head. In spite of that, Peggy chooses to love me.  We made vows before God and to each other many years ago, and through God’s grace (and Peggy’s patience), we continue honored those vows. We choose to love each other.

Love is being able to just do nothing together. When we were young, we thought love meant excitement, go-go-go, adrenaline rush kind of stuff. And it did at the time. As we have had the incredible privilege of growing old together, love looks a lot more like simply hanging out together. Sitting in our easy chairs, or taking car rides together, or walking on the boardwalk, holding hands. In silence. Words are not necessary. Just being with each other is enough. Contentment reigns during those times. I praise God for the time He has granted Peggy and me. I do not take that time for granted. As long as we are together, I am happy. Which leads me to my next point…

image
Love is going on hot dates together. Several years ago, we started chronicaling our trips to Wal Mart together. Now, I HATE shopping. But, I LOVE spending time with Peggy ( remember my previous point?). So, We decided years ago that shopping trips together to the store, to the Wal Mart Super Center, to Target, wherever, would be hot dates. We talk, we laugh, we enjoy our time together. We shop, too, but I always take a selfie with Peggy at some point and make a silly comment with the picture to post on my Hot Dates picture folder on Facebook. Yeah, it is silly. Yeah, it is love. We even have had some other couples start to call their shopping trips together “hot dates.” Score one for love!

Love is difficult. Anyone who says otherwise is a liar. Hollywood’s portrayal of “love” is just garbage. Love is the hardest job you will ever have, and the one that is worth more than most any other job that comes your way. It is totally worth it, but it is not easy. It requires a change of thinking, and a way of living. Jesus said love is known by your willingness to lay down your life for another. That means you put aside your wants and desires. You must be willing to sacrifice for those whom you love. I would totally lay down my life for Peggy, our kids (including spouses), and grandkids. No questions asked. Have I always felt that way? Nope. I do now because love is a choice, and I choose to love that crew.

Love is worth it. I would not trade my life with my Bride Peggy for anything this world could offer.  Please understand that all I have said in this or any other post is done in the context that I love Jesus more than anyone or anything (including Peggy and our family). I know that I have been blessed beyond measure because my Bride loves me. In spite of who I am, she loves me. Even when I am not very lovable, she loves me. The security I have in that knowledge is amazing. How she can possibly say it is worth it to love me, is beyond my comprehension. But she does. She models that love for me, and I try my best to do the same for her, because love is worth it.

I could list several more traits of love, but I will stop for now. What are some traits you would list here? I’d love to continue the conversation in the comments section below.

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on February 12, 2016, in Christian Living, Honor My Wife, Love, Valentine's Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

