The Struggle Is Real

Ephesians 6:12 reads:

 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

It is from this perspective that I want to talk about my struggle with weight-loss, and combatting type 2 diabetes. Yeah, those are both flesh-and-blood kind of issues, but the underlying spiritual motivation is the point here.

A couple of years ago, I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, having flirted in the pre-diabetic stage for many years prior to that. I know that it is in my best interest to eat a more healthy diet, and to exercise on a regular basis. I have chronicled my journey with Weight Watchers, and I must tell you that IF you follow that lifestyle, the pounds will melt away. I can also tell you that IF you fall off that wagon, the pounds will reappear much faster than they went away.

image

The face of a type 2 diabetic in the 30th minute of an ARC Trainer workout.

Six months ago, I was faithfully adhering to the eating plan, and regularly exercising. My weight was down by 20 pounds, my A1c had dropped to 6.0 (the target number is 6.0 or lower), and my blood sugar readings were routinely in the 90’s, and low 100’s.  Three months ago, I was only sporadically following the eating plan, and exercising some. My A1c went up to 6.4, and my blood sugars were creeping up, as was my weight.

 

My most recent visit to the doc revealed an A1c level of 6.7 (7.0 and above is in the “no-no” category), my blood sugars are routinely in the 120’s and those 20 pounds I had lost have found me once again.

The struggle is real.

The struggle is real. When I originally embarked on my lifestyle change it was with the realization that my body is a temple for the Holy Spirit as Paul reminds us in 1 Corinthians 6:19-20.

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price.Therefore honor God with your bodies.

I know that I am not honoring God when I eat out every night and gain weight. I know I am not honoring God when my lifestyle results in elevated A1c and daily blood sugar readings. Intellectually, I know all of this!  I feel like Paul in Romans 7…the things I should do, I don’t, and the things I shouldn’t do, I do. Yikes! The struggle is real.

image

The results of the aforementioned workout on 4-7-16

All I know is this: while the struggle is real, I am equipped for the battle. The prayers of those who lift me up regularly, the dragging of my large posterior out of the bed early mornings to go to the gym, and the choices I can make in what I eat are all there to help me overcome this struggle.  It is a spiritual struggle even more so than a physical one, and God is in control. God will be honored. May my life honor Him in every thing that I do.

 

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on April 7, 2016, in Christian Living, Healthy Lifestyle, Patience and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

