Since You Have Been Raised

In 2016, I have determined to immerse myself in the book of Colossians.  Interestingly enough, after making that decision, I learned that one of my favorite preachers, Gary Johnson, is leading the church where he serves through the book of Colossians for nine months this year. I read/listen to all four chapters of Colossians every day.  I am watching the sermons that Gary and company are preaching at the Creek as they go through Colossians. What a great time of encouragement and stretching as I walk with Christ!

To that end, I will simply blog on Colossians from time-to-time.  Today I want to simply focus on the first few words of Colossians 3:1…

Since you have been raised to new life with Christ

As a follower of Jesus, this simple fact is indeed a life changer.  I do not do life like I used to.  Not only am I different that I was before I became a Christian, I am different in my walk with Christ now than I was 20 years ago. The former change is easy to explain, since Jesus makes the difference in how I live now. The latter change comes from walking with Jesus every day, growing closer to Him as I walk, and gaining wisdom from the study of His Word.

image

Tom Harrigan explains it so well!

Tom Harrigan, worship minister at The Creek, recently illustrated the fact that when you are baptized into Christ, you are 100% forgiven for all your sins, past, present, and future.  However, at the time you are baptized into Christ, you began you walk with Christ.  Jesus is the LORD.  Jesus is the King.  As you walk with Christ and become distracted by the things of this world, your forgiveness is not affected, but your spiritual growth/walk is affected.  Wow, Tom, thank you so much for that reminder!

Since you have been raised to new life with Christ

I can (and you can, too) grow closer to Christ daily.  You have the power to do just this.  Not a power that comes from you, but the same power that raised Jesus from the grave. The power of the indwelling Holy Spirit.

Since you have been raised to new life with Christ

I can be more loving, more filled with grace to extend to others. You can, too.

Since you have been raised to new life with Christ

I can put to death the earthly, sinful things lurking within me.  I can change my way of thinking and acting so as not to try to please my sinful inclinations, but rather to fulfill my primary purpose which is to bring glory to God (Isaiah 43:7).

Since you have been raised to new life with Christ

It doesn’t matter who I am, Christ is all that matters, and he lives in all of us.  All of us who are in Christ, that is. There’s a reality check for us all! Scott often wants to live like he is the center of the universe, but he is not. Even so, I can humble myself before Christ, knowing that my sins have been forgiven 100%, and knowing that by humbling myself, declaring the Lordship of Jesus by the way I live, I KNOW that I live a more abundant, fulfilling life! Because I know that Christ is all that matters.

So how about you?  Since you have been raised to a new life with Christ, what difference is that making? What advice would you share?  I’d love to continue to conversation in the comment section below.

Since you have been raised to new life with Christ

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on April 12, 2016, in Christian Living and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

