Identity Crisis

The headlines these days are filled with stories of the politics of Identity these days.  The radical homosexual movement, not content to normalize same sex attractions/unions, etc. is now pushing the whole transgender identity issue.  Yes, you can tell my position on this issue by the way I have written the opening line.

As I view the world through the lens of Christ, I am deeply saddened by the whole Identity Movement.  It is a movement born out of self.  Me, me, me. I am the center of the universe. Thus, if I feel that my identity is that of (fill in the blank with whatever you so choose) instead of my biological, God-assigned identity, then so be it. This philosophy derives from a generation of people who have established that they will be the god of their own lives.  They remind me of the Israelites at the time of the Judges. In fact, the book of Judges ends with this statement:

“In those days, Israel had no king; all the people did what seemed right in their own eyes.”

I am saddened because I love the people who struggle with this Identity Crisis. Jesus loves them in all their confusion, and so do I. I desire that their crisis be solved, and I know that Jesus is the solution.

Jesus loves them in all their confusion, and so do I.

The culture all around us proclaims that “we have no king, but me.” It shouts, “I am the boss of my life. I can do whatever I want, as long as I am not hurting anyone else.” How narcissistic! How evil.  That attitude DOES indeed hurt others. First and foremost, it hurts God Almighty, the Creator of all living things. Secondly, that attitude hurts others when it places “my wants” ahead of the needs of others.

While many Christians may not take the Identity Crisis to the point of being gender confused, many of us do suffer from an Identity Crisis because we think we are the boss of our lives.

For those of us who follow Christ, nothing could be further from the truth. Jesus is our boss. Jesus is our King.  In fact, Jesus is our life! Colossians 3 reminds us that we who have been raised to new life in Christ died to this life and our real life is hidden with Christ in God.

My identity is in Christ. Period.

My identity is in Christ. Period. As such, I am to put to death the sinful, earthly things lurking within me. I am to have nothing to do with sexual immorality, impurity, lust, and evil desires.  I am to rid myself of anger,  rage, malicious behavior, slander, and dirty language. I am not to lie, and I am to remove my old sinful nature, putting on my new nature (given to me when I was baptized into Christ) as I learn to know my Creator and become like him. In this new life, Christ is all that matters, and he lives in us all. (Colossians 5:5-11)

 image

Identity Crisis?  Yup. Those who continue to live outside of Christ have a serious Identity Crisis.  Those of us who are in Christ need to remember that our identity is found in Jesus alone.  Yes, the battle will still rage, and yes Jesus will still be victorious. The question that remains is will we let our roots grown down into him, or will we let ourselves be captured by the empty philosophies and high-sounding nonsense that comes from human thinking and from the spiritual powers of this world? (Colossians 2:8)

My prayer for all who take the time to read this post is that Christ will dwell fully in you every single day of your lives. I pray that you will submit to the Lordship of Christ, remembering that:

“Christ is the visible image of the invisible God.

He existed before anything was created and is supreme over all creation,

for through him God created everything

in the heavenly realms and on earth.

He made the things we can see

and the things we can’t see – 

such as thrones, kingdoms, rulers, and authorities in the unseen world.

Everything was created through him and for him.” Colossians 1:15-16

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on April 25, 2016, in Christian Living, Identity Crisis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

