Love Lessons From Dad

Dadandkids

Donna, Dad,Tim, Scott, and Ed. July, 1997

We recently placed Dad in Hospice care. His physical condition has deteriorated significantly over the past few months, and while he still resides in the skilled nursing facility in which he has lived for the last three years, the doc there determined that it was time for the palliative care Hospice provides. As I think about this situation, I want to share some Love Lessons I have learned from my Dad. Before I do, let me give you a little background. Dad is one of my heroes. I can receive no greater compliment than to be told that I look like or act like my Dad. That is a huge deal for me, because Dad and I adopted each other when I was in the 2nd grade.  My Mom was divorced and raising three boys when she met my Dad. Since I had been used to being the “man of the house” by virtue of being the oldest of us three boys, I had to size this guy up to make sure he would be a good fit for us all. Long story short, he was, and the two of us decided to “adopt each other” even before he married my Mom.

* Dad models Ephesians 1:5 for me:

“God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure.” It was his desire to adopt all of us boys for real. While our biological father still had parental rights, the time did come that he was willing to give up those rights (praise God!), and Dad adopted the three of us into the Blount family. When I was a senior in high school, my parents adopted a 1-year-old girl, my sister.  She is every bit as much a Blount as anyone! Dad taught us by example that family is family. Period. My birth certificate declares that I am a Blount, and I could not be more proud of that!  So, to have someone tell me that I look like my Dad, well that is FANTASTIC!

Dadandme

Dad and me.

*Dad models unconditional love for me.

Dad loved my Mom, of that there was NO DOUBT. Theirs was the legendary kind of love that Hollywood wishes it could express. They were best friends, lovers, “partners in crime” and they are THE example I look to in how I love my Bride, Peggy.  But, loving my Mom wasn’t enough for Dad.  He loved us kids from the get-go as well.  Unconditionally.  I was never called “step-son” or anything other than “son” by my Dad. I was never made to feel that I was less a Blount than anyone actually “born” into that family name.

Dadb-day
Celebrating Dad’s 81st birthday in 2014

*Dad models true love.

Always an encourager. Always a disciplinarian. Always a cheerleader. Always a protector. If I can be half the man/father that my Dad is, then I will have accomplished a great deal. Dad was never afraid to let us know that he loves us.  He was never afraid to set boundaries, to correct us; but he also was never afraid to shower us with encouragement and affection.

*Dad models responsible love.

One of the first acts of love Dad did for me was to make a deal regarding a bicycle I wanted.  He told me that if I saved up half the money it would cost ($40), then he would match it.  Now, this was about 50 years ago, and my allowance was 10-cents a week.  I did extra jobs around the house to earn extra cash, and when I hit the $20 mark, Dad took me to get the bike. He paid the tax, so I didn’t quite pay half, but I learned many valuable lessons, like hard work, savings, and the desire to properly take care of stuff. No, my bike never laid on the ground or was left out in the rain.  Dad taught me how to be responsible.

DadiHop

One of my favorite pictures of Dad.

As Dad came to live with us seven years ago due to numerous reasons including health issues, I had the privilege of “repaying” him in a small way.  My Bride is a saint among saints because it was not always “easy” having Dad live with us, but her love for him, and his love for her deepened during this time. Over the past few years, because of the danger of frequent falls, and more, Dad moved into a skilled nursing facility.  My desire for Dad is for him to be safe, and well cared for.  He has been.  I visit him frequently (not as often as I would like, but as often as I am able).  He knows that I love him, and I know beyond a shadow of any doubt that he loves me.

I take heart in the knowledge that Dad’s legacy lives on

As we enter the next phase of his time here on earth, I take heart in the knowledge that Dad’s legacy lives on because I try to model the type of Dad he has always been to me, and I see my sons modeling that type of fatherhood as well. I also know that he is “ready” in every sense of the word, and that some day, when God is ready, Dad will go to be in the presence of our Loving Heavenly Father.  The fact that he will be reunited with my Mom is icing on the cake.

Thanks for your continued prayers for Dad, and for all our family.

Be God’s.

Post Script: My Dad went to be with Mom in the presence of our Lord Jesus on Sunday, May 29th. Both of my parents died on a Sunday nearly 23 years apart. I rejoice for their reunion, and look forward to the day I, too, can rejoin them.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on May 26, 2016, in Celebrating a Legacy, Christian Living, Christian Parenting, Honoring Dad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Pauline Anderson

    Beautiful Scott! I really enjoyed reading this!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. This is fantastic! Love you dad!

    Like

  3. We’ve always been a pretty tight family. Miles and years don’t seem to make much of a difference to those of us who stay in touch.

    Like

  4. He has always been Uncle Don!
    He has always shared that unconditional love with me.
    He is and will be remembered by me as a great man.
    I love y’all and will be praying for y’all during this time.

    Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Uncommon Grief | Putting It Blountly

Leave a Reply

