“Light Work” Days in Colombia

image

On our 2nd full day in Colombia, Dale let us know that he had a “light work day” scheduled for us: painting. The 4th cabin at the camp is not yet complete, and our job was going to be to paint the stucco exterior, and concrete walls interior, as well as the window and door frames.  Okay, at first this does not seem like a major work deal.  Remember, we did concrete work the day before, and I wasn’t even feeling all that sore from hours of wheelbarrowing loads of concrete to be spread.

Dale’s definition of “Light Work Day” and my definition of “Light Work Day” are vastly different.

In retrospect, let me just say that Dale’s definition of “Light Work Day” and my definition of “Light Work Day” are vastly different.  I somehow got elected by our crew (I believe it was clearly a case of “age discrimination” lol) to do most of the cut-in work.  Anyone who has ever painted, knows that cut-ins are tedious and tiring.  My hands went numb several times as I held the paint brush, and sometimes that numbness extended to my elbows.  Yeah, the concrete work WAS catching up with me!

Oh yeah, and did I forget to mention that the painting job on that cabin was not going to be a one day project? Oh, no, we spent 5 1/2 days painting that cabin!  Yep, it was “light work days” for the remainder of our time at Villia Peniel, minus our trips to Puerto Lopez, to Collegio Peniel, and to the zoo in Villiavincencio (on the grounds of a former drug lord’s home). I’ll talk about those trips in a future post.

Again, while our crew painted (and took care of some odd jobs in the cabin we were staying in, like hanging curtains, blinds, and putting numbers on the doors to the rooms), there were Colombians tending to other jobs on the camp grounds. I know that they felt the joy of the Lord we expressed as we cheerfully went about our “light work.” I really didn’t think about it at the time, but when Dale pointed out the Christlike example we were setting for the Colombians, I was overwhelmed.  I wonder, if we were to live our lives with joy, giving thanks to Jesus for every opportunity we face each day, what kind of impact would that have on those around us?  I know the answer, but it is a question few of us seriously contemplate.  Again, since I have been immersed into Colossians in my Bible study this year, I keep hearing the words, “since you have been raised to new life with Christ.” May I live each day with the attitude that my attitude is my testimony, and may my testimony bring honor to Jesus always.

 

So, the painting took a whole lot longer than I thought it would when we first started, and painting the window and door frames was extra fun.  We had to use an enamel-based paint for that, meaning brushes were pretty much done after one day’s painting, and cleanup included the use of kerosene. As you can see from the pictures, there was a LOT of detail work to be done on these windows and doors.  Again, you-know-who did the cut-ins, “because I am so meticulous.” lol!

Good one, God. You got me.

God got a huge laugh at my expense through the painting of the cabin.  See, we are doing an “extreme makeover” at our house following a flood from our washing machine back in June.  I have “bragged” that the contractors are taking care of everything, including the painting, so I was going to “get out of that” this time.  Yeah. Then I went to Colombia and painted for a week.  Good one, God. You got me.  I love it!

Still to come: people, places, our accommodations, and the food!  Thank You, Father, for the experience in Colombia. Thank each of you for taking a few minutes to read about that experience.  Please lift up the Colombian Christian Mission and Dale Meade in prayer today and every day.

Be God’s.

 

 

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on August 25, 2016, in Colombian Christian Mission, Dale Meade, Mission Trip and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

