Lessons From Matthew

hurricane_matthewtrack

So, as I write this, Hurricane Matthew is wreaking havoc on Haiti and Cuba.  The storm is heading up the east coast of Florida, where I live.  Right now, it appears that the center of the storm will be about 85 miles off the coast, with Tropical Storm force winds extending 185 miles from the center of the storm. Water is in short supply, long lines are already forming for gasoline, propane, etc.  People are getting prepared.

I want to draw a couple of lessons from Hurricane Matthew, and cite a passage from the Gospel of Matthew regarding being vigilant and being prepared.

In Matthew 25:1-13, Jesus tells the story of the 10 Bridesmaids. Five foolish Bridesmaids were not prepared. They did not have enough oil in their lamps. When they went to refill those lamps, the Bridegroom appeared, and only the five Bridesmaids who were waiting and ready were allowed in for the wedding proceedings. Jesus ends the story with these words: “So, you too must keep watch. For you do not know the hour of my return.”

We must be vigilant.  Keep watch.  For the past several days, we have gotten the breathless reporting of weather people tracking Matthew. For us seasoned Floridians, it is easy to dismiss this as needless hype to drive up the tv viewing ratings.  Often, that is exactly what it is.  However, those of us who have “been there and done that” when it comes to hurricanes also know that these storms have minds of their own.  Just because they are predicted to follow a certain path, does not mean that is what will happen.  So, we need to be vigilant. Keep an eye out, and have a plan in place!

We must be prepared. Like I said, water is already starting to get scarce, gas lines are just going to be the order of the day. I already took my pool deck furniture off the deck this morning. Garbage cans will go in the garage soon. My house is as prepared as I can make it for the coming storm. Are there a few things I wish I had taken care of to be better prepared? Yup. Am I prepared? Yup.

Same holds true with the 2nd coming of Jesus. As He alludes to in the parable of the 10 Bridesmaids, we do not know when He is coming, we just know that He is coming. We must remain vigilant. I desire to walk closer with Jesus today than I did yesterday. That means studying God’s Word, staying in prayer, and living a life of love so that others are attracted to Him because they have been around me.  None of that will “save” me. But it might just help someone else to be saved.  Make no mistake, only Jesus saves.  My part is to introduce others to Jesus by the way I live my life.  That is being vigilant.  I want to help everyone be ready for His return.

Being prepared means that no matter what, I know Jesus and He knows me. I have submitted my life to His Lordship. I have obeyed the Gospel, and am clothed with Christ (Galatians 3:27, Romans 6:3-5, Colossians 2:11-15). I am ready for His return, and unlike Hurricane Matthew, I long for Jesus to come!

Haiti Tropical Weather

A girl watches as the authorities arrive to evacuate people from her house in Tabarre, Haiti, Monday, Oct. 3, 2016. The center of Hurricane Matthew is passed over Southwestern Haiti on Tuesday.  (AP Photo/Dieu Nalio Chery)

Please pray for those in Haiti who have been devastated by the effects of Matthew. Please pray for those who are still in Matthew’s path.  More importantly, please pray for those you know who don’t know Jesus. Live your life of vigilance and preparedness so that they will be attracted to Him.

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on October 4, 2016, in Christian Living, Lessons from Matthew, Surviving the storms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

