Thanksgiving Reflections

img_3505

I haven’t written for some time, because quite frankly, I just haven’t felt that I had anything to say. Some of that may be attributable to my WES, and some of it is just truth.

 However, in this season of Thanksgiving, I am compelled to share to following thoughts:

 I am blessed beyond measure. Not only do I have my salvation in Christ Jesus (which is more than enough), but I have the icing on the cake blessings of

  • Peggy, my Bride of 35 years. She is my rock who keeps me grounded.

  • My “kids” – all grown up and all married now, they continue to be a source of pride and joy.

  • My “kids’ spouses” all of whom I consider to be my “kids” (we don’t use the term “in-law” around here). To see how each of them bring so much joy to my “kids” warms my heart beyond measure.

  • My grandkids – three of them, with another on the way. It makes my day any time I get to see these precious “babies.” Whether it is FaceTime or face-to-face, I am in “Pop Pop Heaven” when I have the privilege of interacting with my grandchildren.

  • Extended family – Peggy’s parents, our siblings and their spouses, and their kids. All of these people enrich my life in ways they could never even fathom.

  • Our church family – we truly are brothers and sisters in Christ. Vero Christian Church is not a place to go, it is the people we know and love. We are so loved in  return, and blessed beyond words to be a part of this family in Christ.

  • Taco, the Chihuahua I did not want to bring into my household. Yeah, Peggy had to beg me to get Taco. Five years later, I cannot imagine what life would be like without him around. While Peggy lobbied hard to get him, he is “my dog.”

Those are just a few of my Thanksgiving reflections.  I literally could go on for hours of typing and I do go on for hours of my praise and prayer time.

 I needed this reminder this week.  I need to be more praiseful and less self-centered. I need to practice what I preach. Thanks for praying for me in this regard. I promise to do the same for you.

 What are some things for which you are thankful? I would love to continue the dialogue with you in the comment section below.

 Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on November 21, 2016, in Christian Living, Thanksgiving and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to your entire family, Scott. Please keep my family and mother in your prayers as I do yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

