No Hindered Prayers

Each Friday, it is my desire to post something along the lines of “proper perspective in family relationships.” Being an empty-nester now, I have a wealth of experience (some good, and some not so good) from which to draw.  Of course, the Source from which I will draw most heavily is God’s Word.

Peter has something interesting to say to husbands regarding how they should treat their wives in 1 Peter 3:7. Check it out:

img_4526

Peter says we are to give honor to our wives.  Husbands, you should be your wife’s biggest cheerleader.  Publicly praise her at every opportunity.  No, you should look for opportunities to publicly praise her.  My Uncle Allen always referred to Aunt Diane as “my Bride.” That stuck with me at a very young age.  I know it is all the “Christian rage” to call your wife your Bride, but that is not why I call Peggy my Bride.  I learned that example from a guy I respected and saw how he treated his wife.  I also watched the way my Dad treated my Mom, and I wanted to make sure to live up to those examples in my life.

Peggy is the best thing to ever happen to me, this side of my salvation in Christ.

Let me tell you about Peggy. She is my best friend. She is the best cook on the planet (worry you other guys have to settle for 2nd best). She “gets me.” She laughs at my corny jokes, she encourages me when I am down, and she plants her foot in my rear end when necessary (and that is quite often). I want the whole world to know that Peggy is the best thing to ever happen to me, this side of my salvation in Christ.  I am so honored to be her husband.

Secondly in this verse, Peter says to treat your wife with understanding.  Okay fellas, let’s just admit right now that we do not have a CLUE when it comes to understanding how women think. We can, however, understand that they think differently, and we can respect that, encourage that, and learn from that. I am SO GLAD that Peggy sees things differently than I do. Her intuition is spot on, and her counsel is wise. I understand that God placed her in my life to help me with the (many) issues I cannot work out on my own!  I also understand that she is different from me (gasp!) and that I need to understand she may tackle a situation from a different angle than I would.

The most blatant benefit Peter discusses in this treatise on how men should treat their wife is when he says that treat her as you should so that your prayers will not be hindered. Did you ever stop to think that maybe the reason your prayer life seems to lifeless is that you are not treating your wife right? Maybe the reason your prayers seem to fall on deaf ears is because you are being a jerk to the help-mate given to you as a blessing from God.

I don’t know about you, but I want my prayer life to be vibrant. I want to have prayers that perk up the ears of the Creator of heaven and earth.  I want to treat my wife in a manner that is honoring, filled with understanding, and shows her to be my life-partner in Christ. When I do, the blessings that come back to me are a thousand-fold.

Married men, what are some ways you honor your wife? I would love to continue the conversation in the comments section below.

Be God’s.

 

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on February 3, 2017, in Family Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful tribute to ‘your bride!’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

