Humility

Humility is defined on dictionary.com as

noun

1.

the quality or condition of being humble; modest opinion or estimate of one’s own importance, rank, etc.

img_4381

Peter reminds us that humility comes from a tender heart. Man, is that so counter-cultural.  Especially for us men, who are supposed to be rugged, tough, take-no-guff guys.

But humility doesn’t mean that you think any less of yourself. You just think of yourself less.

God has no favorites.

The paradox in our Christian life is the fact that we hear (or should hear) often that God loves us so much that He sent Jesus to take our sins away.  We are the object of God’s great love.  At the same time, Paul reminds us in Colossians 3:26b “For God has no favorites.” Peter echoes that sentiment in 1 Peter 1:17, “And remember that the heavenly Father to whom you pray has no favorites.” 

When I am tenderhearted, I am more Christ-like.

As I try to make sure I have a proper perspective, it is important for me to remember that as crazy as God is about me, He is that crazy about everyone else in the world. I have no reason, nor any right to become puffed up with myself. I need to remember that a modest opinion of my own importance, rank, etc. IS the proper perspective in the Kingdom of Christ. When I am tenderhearted, I am more Christ-like.

Of what can I boast? Any skills that I have come from God. Anything good I can conceive comes from God. Anything I can do that promotes peace, harmony, and love comes from God.

On the other hand, pride, arrogance,  and judgementalism, those all come from my sinful nature which I am attempting to wipe out of my new life in Christ.  I have no room for such sinful attitudes and behavior in this new life in Christ. It is my desire to see such traits disappear as I walk closer with my Lord every day of my life.

img_4531

My prayer is that God will humble me daily, as I relate to others.  I want to serve the King of kings and the Lord of lords ONLY.

So, how can I be a more tenderhearted, humble person? Here are a few suggestions to start off on that path:

  • I want to consider the  wants and needs of others ahead of my own desires.

  • I want to serve those who can do nothing for me in return.

  • I want to serve without hesitation or condition.

  • I want to be a source of encouragement always.

  • I want to realize what my part in the Kingdom is, and to do that part with reckless abandon.

  • I want to be content with my part in the Kingdom, and not desire someone else’s part.

Just a little food for thought on humility today. What are your thoughts? What do you actively seek to do to be more humble, more tenderhearted? I would love to continue the conversation in the comments section below.

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on February 8, 2017, in Christian Living, Humility and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

