Grace is Greater Launch Team

So, I have been a fan of Kyle Idleman since before he wrote that book. I have listened to countless sermons through the Southeast Christian Church podcast site, and even have a 2nd degree of separation from him on several fronts (a friend was his Bible Bowl sponsor, another couple I am close with attend Southeast and know him from there, etc.). I have read all of Kyle’s books – don’t ask me my favorite, because it will always be the last one I read. So, yeah, currently it is “End of Me.

Well, that is not entirely true.  I was among those selected to be on the Lanuch Team for Kyle’s newest book, “Grace is Greater.” Having an advanced copy and having already dived deeply within the pages of this tome, yeah, it is my new favorite. I will examine my journey through the book in my next couple of posts, and let me be the first to encourage you to purchase this book. You can pre-order it now on Amazon and at Grace Is Greater book website.

img_4632

The subtitle for the book says it all: “God’s plan to overcome your past, redeem your pain, and rewrite your story.” I love the approach Kyle has taken in this book. In the introduction, Kyle writes: “I’m less interested, and for that matter less qualified, to teach you about the doctrine of grace. I am much more interested in helping you experience grace. I tend to think grace is best and most fully understood not by way of explanation alone but through experience.”

That’s why the Good News of the Gospel is so good! Because that grace is for EVERYONE.

As Kyle begins this journey with us, he makes a sobering statement that should give us all pause: “Our ability to appreciate grace is in direct correlation to the degree to which we acknowledge our need for it.”  When I continue to fool myself into thinking that I am not THAT bad, or that I am better than most, I have bought into satan’s trap of the wrong comparison standard. I am a sinner in need of grace. Period. So are you, by the way.  That’s why the Good News of the Gospel is so good! Because that grace is for EVERYONE. No matter what you have done in the past. No matter who you are.

Kyle wraps up chapter one in the book with the encouragement that, “you’ve done nothing so horrible that grace can’t cover it. Grace is always greater – no matter what.”

May you allow the grace of God to wash over you.

May those words encourage you today. May you allow the grace of God to wash over you. May you openly and freely receive this gift of grace given not because you deserve it, but because God loves you.

I look forward to sharing other thoughts generated from this book. Thanks for allowing me in your life to do so.

Be God’s.

 

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on February 21, 2017, in Grace is Greater and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

