Beautiful and Redemptive

img_4632

The journey into “Grace is Greater” is an amazing, love-filled time. Today and Wednesday, I will continue my journey through this book, and share a few thoughts with you. Thanks for giving me the grace to take this journey with me. See what I did there? lol

You can run away and hide, but grace is relentless. Grace will track you down.

Now, THAT is the beautiful thing about grace. It doesn’t wait on you, grace tracks you down. I am so grateful that grace did not wait on me, because I would never have experienced grace. The entire story of the Bible is a story of God chasing down you, me, and everyone who has ever lived.  Get this: God DESIRES fellowship with you. He longs for Communion with you. Don’t believe that? God sent His one and only Son Jesus to pay the price for your sins so that you could spend eternity in the Presence of the One Who created the universe! Even though you (and I, and everyone else) didn’t deserve it. Grace chased humankind down, and Jesus provides the way for us to have ALL our sins forgiven.

If your assumption bout Jesus is that he doesn’t have any interest in you, then there’s a good chance you’ve never had much interest in him.

Bam! Jesus has been pursuing you since before you knew Who Jesus was! Jesus knows you better than you know yourself, and he loves you anyway!!  As Kyle puts it…

img_1134

That is the beauty of grace.  It is for everyone. period. As for the redemptive work of grace, well, that depends on our attitude in receiving grace.  The bottom line for all of us is this: (Romans 3:23NLT) “For everyone has sinned, we all fall short of God’s glorious standard.” When we truly come to recognize that fact of life, we can either respond with regret leading to remorse, leading to despair, or we can respond with regret leading to remorse, leading to repentance.

Repentance is one of those “churchy words,” that means to turn from sin and turn toward God. It is a change of attitude AND direction.  I’m not sure that the church in America has paid enough attention to the role of repentance when it comes to receiving grace. We have a tendency to gloss over repentance, because frankly there is a lot of work to repenting. Oh, the grace is a free gift, but repentance is necessary to fully experience the benefits of grace.  Kyle tells the story of the hole in the closet door to demonstrate how we can miss the joy of grace without true repentance. If you want to know that story, get the book!

As I continue reading through Grace Is Greater, I find myself at the end of each chapter saying, “that was the best chapter yet.” Then, I read another chapter. Trust me, you WANT to purchase and read this book. No, I get no royalties, I just strongly believe in the message Kyle Idleman shares in this book.

On Wednesday, I will briefly take a look at how Grace frees, heals, prevails, and reconciles. Well, I’ll share my thoughts about what Kyle teaches in those areas. Thanks again for taking this journey with me.

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on February 27, 2017, in Grace is Greater and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

