Grace Is Greater

img_4632

If you have not already ordered or purchased the book Grace Is Greater, stop reading this blog and do it right now. Don’t worry about what I am writing, read the life-giving words Kyle shares in this important book. After you have placed your order, come on back and I will continue this sneak peak at some of my (numerous) highlights.

Today I promised to speak “briefly” about the healing, feeing, prevailing, redeeming power of Grace as explained by Kyle Idleman. Buckle up. The quote blocks are from the book, the other stuff is me, just in case you couldn’t figure that out. lol

Healing

Sometimes we think we need to forgive someone when in reality we had no business being hurt in the first place.

Such an important distinction to make in this day and age when everyone is offended by anything. Toughen up, Christ-followers. We are not snowflakes, and there are plenty of times we need to simply stop playing the “I am offended” card.

There are times when we have been genuinely offended. Instead of retaliating with offense of our own, we need to remember Peter’s admonition in 1 Peter 3:Don’t repay evil for evil. Don’t retaliate with insults when people insult you. Instead, pay them back with a blessing. That is what God has called you to do, and he will grant you his blessing.

We should not relatiate, because we have received Grace that is far greater than we deserve, and as Kyle reminds us:

grace-is-greater-1

Freeing

We’re never more like God than when we forgive.

That wisdom alone is worth the price of the book. Actually I find myself thinking that thought about numerous wisdom nuggets contained in this book. However, the notion that we cannot truly be like God until we FORGIVE is sobering.  It is my desire to look more like Christ in my daily journey through this life. That desire must include the continual action of forgiveness, just as I am continually forgiven by Heavenly Father.

Prevailing

God is standing with you and offers you a grace that is not only greater than anything you have done but greater than anything that has been done to you.

One of my favorite Rich Mullins lines is not from a song, but from a comment he made in a concert, when he declared, “‘Vengeance is mine saith the Lord,’ I just love being about the Lord’s business.” Now, this was obviously tongue-in-cheek, but I wonder how often I have lived my life in that manner. May the life of all of us who follow Christ be marked by forgiveness and grace. May we understand that extending grace does not let our offender off the accountability hook, but it does require that I move beyond my desire to “make things right” by seeking revenge. Grace prevails because Grace is greater than my vengeance.

Reconciling

The forgiveness we have received from God is the motivation, the mandate, and also the model of forgiveness we are to give.

Oh, I see what “preacher thing” you did there, Kyle. What with the whole alliterative phrase and all.  The truth of this statement knocks me to my knees asking God for forgiveness once again.

The chapter on Reconciliation contains the story of Joyce Meyer and her relationship with her parents, specifically her father. Have your hankie ready when you read this story. Real men WILL cry at this beautiful story of reconciliation.

Total reconciliation requires both forgiveness from the offended and repentance from the offender.

The depth of insight of Kyle Idleman is clearly seen as he retells the story of Jacob and Esau AND reminds us that Jacob’s boy Joseph witnessed their reconciliation. That was an “AHA” moment of clarity that had me cheering out loud. Thank you, Kyle.

Since the book officially released yesterday, I may not continue to review chapter-by-chapter, but rest assured that future blog posts will be heavily influenced by this book. I know Friday’s post certainly will be as I bring much of this to a personal level.  Thanks for hanging in there with me.

What are some ways you dispense grace? I would love to continue the conversation in the comments section below.

Be God’s.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on March 1, 2017, in Grace is Greater and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

