The Rest of the Story

I left off in my last post, with Donna estranged, homeless, and on her own. The crash of the co-dependent life had come about in the worst of ways. Or perhaps the best of ways. For the first time in her life, Donna had to depend on her – not Dad – to get her life turned around. I prayed that she would understand such a transformation would come only through the Grace of Jesus. I had long since released this all over to Him.

grace-is-greater-8

In the three years since then, Donna and I have watched our relationship ebb and flow. I truly believe much of that ebb and flow was because Donna wasn’t ready to receive the Grace that God had to offer, and that I had to offer. Satan’s greatest lie in this process is that “you are not worthy of receiving that grace.” He leaves off the part where Christ paid the price and in Christ are we made worthy. Grace absolutely is a journey. Both for the one giving and the one receiving it. We are in a good place in our relationship now.  It has come because of much prayer and hard work. As Kyle puts it:

Grace is more than a decision we make, it’s a JOURNEY we take.

The journey does not end as long as we are walking the ice of this planet. There are ebb and flow moments still ahead. But I believe that Grace is Greater. There is NO SIN that is able to negate the power of Grace. Nothing we could ever do can wipe away the power of Grace.  We can deny ourselves the Grace that God has to offer us, and sadly, many of us do.  Kyle Idleman “puts it Blountly” when he writes:

Here’s my concern: often the church is know for its outrage toward people outside of our community who need grace rather than outrage for the people inside our community who refuse to give it.

I don’t ever want that to be said about me. I am the worst sinner I know.  I am in need of Grace every day.  How could I ever DARE to refuse to give Grace to ANYONE else?

How about you? How can you extend Grace today? To whom do you need to extend Grace? I would love to continue the conversation in the comments section below.

Be God’s.

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on March 6, 2017, in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

