Well Done

img_4689

My brother in Christ Greg Nunley went to be with the Lord Jesus this week.  His ten month battle with lymphoma is over. He is in the presence of our Lord, Whom he served faithfully throughout the 44 years Greg was on this planet. I wrote about Greg and his family here. Today I ask that you continue to lift up Stacy and her seven children in prayer.

As I left the family a couple of weeks ago, Greg and I were on the porch saying our “goodbyes in this world.” Although I didn’t have to (because he already knew it), I told Greg how much I love him and how much God loves him. Greg told me that he was just taking things one day at a time. That is how he lived his entire life. His strong faith our in Lord Jesus meant that Greg knew he could only take life one day at a time, trusting Jesus to walk with him that day.

I pray that Stacy and the kids will continue living that way as well.  I know that as tough as these past nine months have been, as tough as these past nine weeks have been, as tough as these past nine days, nine hours, and nine minutes have been, tough times are still ahead.  I also know that Jesus will be with them (and us) every step of the way. My heart breaks for Stacy and the kids as the pain of separation from a loving husband and dad is just starting to settle in and “get real.” My heart breaks for the separation I feel from one of my “Timothys.” My youth group “kids” are my kids, and their families are my family.

I confess to you that I have spent the past 36 hours not just mourning my loss, not just praising God for heaven’s gain, but hating death. God hates death as well.  It was not part of the original creation which God declared to be “very good.” Death came about because of sin (disobedience of God). Death is overcome by the sacrifice that Jesus made on the Cross on behalf of everyone who ever lived and ever will live. Like Greg. Like me.  Like you. As I have been hating on death, I am loving Jesus more and more.

May I desire to truly live my life, one day at a time like Greg did.  May I truly trust Jesus to walk with me each day I am granted on this planet.  I know that I long for the day when I, too, can be in the presence of Jesus.  Maybe when I get there, I can sit for Greg to do a “proper portrait” of me. Or maybe, I’ll just get another caricature done. After all, the first one is well done.

Just like Greg’s life. Just like the greeting Greg got around 11:30pm Monday night. Well done.

Be God’s.

 

About blountman

Christ-follower, husband, dad, son, brother, Pop Pop, and associate minister at Vero Christian Church

Posted on March 8, 2017, in Celebrating a Legacy, Christian Living, Uncommon Grief, Well Done and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have been praying for this family and will continue to do so.

    Like

Leave a Reply

